Pages

Jul 10, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: Undercurrent by Paul Blackwell

Waiting on Wednesday recognizes that we as bookies pine for books. This post is about what I am impatiently waiting for right now. It was started by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

This week I am excited to bring your attention in a debut author! Paul Blackwell's Undercurrent, set for release on July 23, seems like something my readers & I would love! This book has "distinctive" written all over it. Check out the summary.


Undercurrent coverIn Undercurrent, Paul Blackwell’s fast-paced YA thriller, sixteen-year-old Callum Harris survives a plummet over a waterfall, but wakes to find himself in a life that’s totally different from the one he knew.

His parents were separated. Now they’re together. His brother Cole was a sports star. Now he’s paralyzed. And Callum, who used to be quiet and sort of unpopular, is suddenly a jock with two hot girls after him.

But there’s one difference that matters more than all the others combined: His former best friend wants Callum dead. And he isn’t the only one.

Tense and original, Undercurrent is a psychological thrill-ride with sci-fi elements that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Neal Shusterman.


From Goodreads

How incredible does that sound? I completely understand why they think fans of Gaiman & Shusterman would enjoy this book. The thing I am most interested in finding out is why someone wants him dead. My brain can make up all sorts of explanations about the "alternate reality" but there aren't very many good ones (or at least logical ones) for wanting him dead. Unless he's rocking the proverbial boat; then obviously he's got to go. :)

Have you heard of this one? What do you think about the description? What are you waiting on this week?

1 comment:

Bookworm1858 said...

I love books with alternate realities so this one is definitely one I'll want to check out-why do they want him dead?